UAE has suspended entry permits for passengers from Zambia, Uganda and the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)
#Africa #AirTransport #Covid19 #Tourism #UnitedArabEmirates
Agence Ecofin
Friday 11 June 2021 Last update on Friday, June 11, 2021 At 9:23 AM

To limit the spread of the coronavirus, the United Arab Emirates had announced the entry ban for several countries including Nigeria and South Africa. In turn, Zambia, Uganda and the DRC are struck by this suspension.

The United Arab Emirates have suspended entry permits for passengers arriving from Zambia, Uganda and the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). This is what the UAE authorities said in a statement relayed by the WAM news agency on Wednesday, June 9.

Officials say the license suspension will be in effect from 11:59 p.m. on June 11, and is part of measures taken to curb the spread of the coronavirus. It will concern travelers from the three countries announced, but also foreign carriers and passengers in transit or having stayed there during the 14 days preceding their arrival in the United Arab Emirates. Only cargo planes and transit flights to these countries will be allowed.

Regarding exceptions to the measure, authorities in Abu Dhabi have announced that they concern Emirati citizens, holders of diplomatic passports and official delegations. However, in order to enter Emirati territory, these people will have to present a negative PCR test no more than 72 hours before their arrival. Also, depending on the place of departure, some arrivals will have to undergo a confinement of 5 to 10 days once at their destination.

For the Emirati authorities, the epidemiological evolution in the countries hit by the suspension of flights justifies this decision.

As a reminder, the DRC and Zambia are facing a third wave of contamination with the virus, while Uganda has just put in place restrictive measures to stop a second wave of spread more intense than the first.

Note that the ban that had been announced for travelers from and in transit from India, Nigeria, but also South Africa is still in force in the United Arab Emirates.

Réagissez à cet article

Vos commentaires

Rejoignez la discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *